About Us





Zone Contacts

About the BCSSRU

School rugby at the senior level kicks-off during the first week of March.  Through league competition and play-offs, each of seven designated zones will determine its representatives to the Provincial Championship Tournaments to be held in late May.  This will be the culminating event of the season and features thirty-two teams from around the province – sixteen at the AAA level and sixteen at the AA level.  Over four days and a total of sixty-four games, two Provincial Champions will be decided.  It is widely recognized as a showcase of high caliber school rugby.

Another highlight of the season will be the annual Invitational Sevens Tournament, held early in April and hosted by St. George’s School in Vancouver.  Over two days, competition among sixteen teams will provide a festival of entertaining rugby.

We believe in recognizing and rewarding our top student-athletes.  Over the past fifteen years, one hundred and fifty-six scholarships have been awarded to graduating students who have gone on to enroll in approved post-secondary education programs of study. Special thanks is due to those individuals and groups who support the BCSSRU Scholarship Program financially: the Hyde-Lay Family (Derek Hyde-Lay Memorial Scholarships), the BC Rugby Union, the Pacific Northwest Over 40 Rugby Union, the Lower Mainland Zone, the University of British Columbia RFC, the University of Victoria RFC, the BC Rugby Referees’ Society and x-treme Rugbywear Ltd.   Up to fourteen scholarships will be awarded this year to graduating students who show excellence in rugby and success in their curricular studies, and who demonstrate strong character, citizenship and leadership within both school and community.  Please refer to details on the Scholarships/Criteria and Application Procedures section of our website.

Perhaps more than any other initiative at the high school level, our sport affords the opportunity for players to travel and compete internationally.  Over the past years, our schools have hosted, or travelled to compete against teams from other Canadian provinces, the United States, Europe, South America, Japan, Southeast Asia as well as the rugby strongholds of Australia and New Zealand.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact one of the Executive members listed below.

Management CommitteeP Phone  
Walter van Halst
Commissioner   This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Stephen Rowell President (604) 864-0220 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Ian Hyde-Lay
1st Vice-President (250) 519-7349 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Kevin Ballard 2nd Vice-President,    
Ian MacKay Secretary-Treasurer    

BCSSRU Scholarship Program

We are appreciative of the support provided by the following individuals and organizations:

  • BC Rugby Referees' Society
  • BC Rugby Union
  • Hyde-Lay Family
  • Lower Mainland Zone
  • Pacific Northwest Over 40 Rugby Union
  • UBC Rugby Football Club
  • UVic Rugby Football Club

Partner Organizations

SchoolSports logo bw posbc rugbyx tremerugbywearlogo frontrowphoto