About Us





Zone Contacts


2010 Season Articles
icon twitter

bcssru 2019 top


Rugby is once again alive and well in the Kootenay schools, with six teams involved in a series of mini-tournaments over the next four weeks.  Participating schools are J. L. Crowe (Trail), Grand Forks, L.V. Rogers (Nelson), Mt. Baker (Cranbrook), Rossland and Selkirk (Castlegar).  The team with the best overall record will advance to BCSSRU Provincials 2010, the first time the zone will have been represented at that level for several years.  Much credit for this resurgence is due to Sean Sinclair, a graduate of Brentwood College now teaching at Selkirk.  He has taken on this project with a great deal of commitment and enthusiasm.

Last Saturday, Grand Forks hosted the first of these events.  It was a warm and sunny day and, with two fields in operation, the schedule of games went off without a hitch.  Clearly, the coach of L.V. Rogers (Mike Joyce) would have to be pleased with the performance of the team with which he has been working for the past three seasons.  A vote of thanks is due to Scott Stewart, Principal at Grand Forks, for facilitating and hosting this tournament.

We look forward to the results from this coming weekend’s edition in Trail.